American Concert Pianist, Steinway Artist, Susan Merdinger
It is clear that Susan Merdinger, the featured artist on this Sheridan Music Studio recording entitled “The Classical Style II” possess all the attributes necessary to do this music justice. She has a sterling technique, and a clear identification with and enthusiasm for the repertoire, coupled with a sense of architecture and proportion so essential to music of the Classical era. ” - Ken Meltzer

— Fanfare Magazine

“The Classical Style: II” Susan Merdinger, piano (Sheridan Music Studio) The Classical Style: II is the eagerly awaited follow-up to an earlier release of a similarly titled album that I reviewed in February, 2014. What I said then about Susan Merdinger‟s grasp of Classical form and its influence on the expression we hear in the music of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven goes double for this new release. Again, we find the elements of elegance, restraint, and formal structure making for very satisfying works that will still resonate with pianists and listeners today.” - Phil Muse

— Atlana Audio Club

Here we have a tour de force from the two artists, each perfectly complementing the other. Apparently, Mozart did not favor either of the piano parts over the other, so both pianists are on equal ground and carry out their assignments with exceptional agility and poise. The result is music rich and full in tone and quality.” - John J. Puccio

Classical Candor

The Classical Style II

Susan Merdinger, American Concert Pianist

In cart Not available Out of stock

The Classical Style II is the sequel to Steinway Artist Susan Merdinger's The Classical Style CD, featuring works by Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven. Elegance, refinement, lyricism and virtuosity abound in these interpretations.

Read more… close
  1. 1
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  2. 2
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  3. 3
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  4. 4
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  5. 5
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  6. 6
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  7. 7
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  8. 8
    In cart Not available Out of stock
  9. 9
    In cart Not available Out of stock


All of the compositions on this disc embrace tonality, melody, and explore a wide range of musical influences, including classical, popular, and folk elements. And in the main, the works are conceived for a virtuoso pianist, one with an impressive technique, as well as a sensitivity for a wide range of moods, colors, and styles. Throughout American Melting Pot, Merdinger demonstrates those qualities in abundance....The shimmering textures of the Vazquez Ballade are an intriguing foil to the angular and often percussive writing in Gould’s Pieces of China. And Merdinger proves expert in capturing the spirit of each.....Susan Merdinger has provided an important service by performing and recording contemporary American piano works that are of a very high caliber. ” - Ken Meltzer

— Fanfare Magazine

This is a fascinating disc of unusual music” - Lynn Rene Bayley

— Art Music Lounge

The final piece on the agenda is Shtetl Scenes by Russian-born composer Ilya Levinson (b. 1958). It recounts scenes in a small Jewish village in pre-World War II Eastern Europe. Here, Ms. Merdinger performs the trio version of the work, accompanied by David Yonan, violin, and Christopher Ferrer, cello. The music is melancholic, dramatic, joyful, introspective, energetic, and haunting by turns. The piece itself and the trio’s realization of it afforded some of my favorite moments in the album.  ” - John J. Puccio

— Classical Candor

Chosidl is a slow dance that builds in energy and tempo, just the right thing to end a diverse and well-balanced suite in which Susan is joined by violinist David Yonan and cellist Christopher Ferrer. All contribute to the color and diversity of timbre needed to bring this suite to life. ” - Phil Muse

— Atlanta Audio Club

Piano Sonata (2011), by Aaron Alter (b. Illinois, 1955), subtitled “My New Beginning,” trades on musical styles ranging from from the first movement of Beethoven‟s “Waldstein” Sonata (where the influence is so subtle one has to listen for it deliberately) to modern genres such as jazz and rock. Alter serves it up in a big orchestral style [that] projects the full range and sound of the piano. This is the sort of thing Susan Merdinger loves, so that it is no coincidence the work was dedicated to her following it its world premiere in November, 2018.” - John J. Puccio

— Classical Candor